top of page
  • molloycommunicatio

Traffic in the Square

Written by: Nicole DelGrosso

We have all been stuck in traffic at one point in our lives. Traffic sneaks up on you at the worst times. Whether you had a long day at work or school, or coming home from a vacation, traffic can occur. Unfortunately, traffic is often unavoidable and you will just have to sit through it. We all know how busy the roads can be during rush hour in both the morning and at night. In Franklin Square, I would say the roads are the busiest between 7:00-9:00 am, and in the evening 3:00-7:00 pm. In Franklin Square, the morning and evening traffic on Hempstead Turnpike is dreadful. If you are in a rush, I would highly suggest avoiding Hempstead Turnpike if your location allows. My job is in Garden City, therefore my route to work requires Hempstead Turnpike. My shifts start at approximately 8:45-9:00 am, to get to work in time, I leave my house by 8:05 the latest! I know that if I don’t give myself ample amount of time to travel, the traffic will make me late.




Nobody likes to sit in traffic, we all have places to be! For my interview, I spoke with my older sister, my mom, and my boyfriend. I chose to interview these three individuals because their schools and jobs require Hempstead Turnpike. I asked my older sister how she felt about traffic, and her response was “I wish I knew how traffic even started”. This is often a question I ask myself, if only we knew what caused traffic. When there are no car accidents and no construction sites, why is there still traffic? During my interview with my mom, I asked her if Hempstead Turnpike was always backed up with traffic. Her response was “yes, and the million camera lights don’t help!”. There are approximately 3 camera lights on Hempstead Turnpike. Although it is smart to catch the irresponsible drivers, the lights back up the turnpike for blocks down. When interviewing my boyfriend I asked him if he would rather take Hempstead Turnpike or walk to a close destination, and he said "walk!".

I have always wondered what causes traffic. Traffic can be on main roads, side streets, and highways. Personally, I find that highway traffic is the most dreadful. When taking the parkway, it is harder to go around the traffic. Nowadays, we are very lucky to have apps on our phones or even our cars to let us know where the traffic areas are.



Unfortunately, I have received a red light ticket of $150 on Hempstead Turnpike after a long day at work. This was very frustrating, but I realized that I made a bad judgement call. To those of you who live nearby Hempstead Turnpike, I would highly suggest managing your time and always drive safely. I have seen so many accidents on this road, and it can make others very nervous! Always drive safe no matter what the situation may be!




4 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page