top of page
  • molloycommunicatio

Titan Foods In Astoria Closing After 30 Years

By Dimitra Angelopoulos

Titan Foods is a local Greek supermarket and one of the largest in the country. Unfortunately, it was announced recently that they will be closing. Astoria has been a hub of Greek food and culture for many years. Many people have been shopping there for generations, including my family.

My family and I have been going to Titan Foods for as long as I can remember. We shop there for foods that we would normally only be able to purchase in Greece. Being the largest Greek supermarket in the area, it was always the best place to find a variety of imported Greek products and freshly-made baked goods and pastries. I remember going with my Grandpa to the cheese section in Titan when I was about 5 years old and the man behind the counter would give me little free samples of cheese or cold-cuts to try. The people who work in Titan have always been very friendly and family oriented.

I asked two people who shop frequently at Titan to ask them their thoughts on them closing. I asked Kaitlyn Burress how often she shops at Titan, to which she responded, “I have been shopping consistently, probably about once a week, at Titan since I moved to New York in 2020. Since my husband is Greek, he took me to Titan when I moved here and I fell in love with it. No other Greek markets in the area compare!” Kaitlyn also stated that she likes to buy

ingredients to make homemade tzatziki, Greek coffee, and Greek lemonade when she goes to Titan. I then asked her how she feels about Titan closing after so many years. “Although I have only been shopping at Titan for a few years, I am really bummed that they’re closing. It has quickly become one of my favorite places to shop for Greek food and snacks, and I will be really sad to see them go.” Lastly, I asked Kaitlyn where she will shop now that Titan will be closing. She said, “I’m not sure honestly. There are a few other small Greek markets and cafés in the area, but none of them have a selection like Titan had. I am really hoping that Titan opens a different location in the future!”

I also asked Constantine Perselis, who was born and raised in Greece and moved to New York in 2021. He appreciates the fact that there was a market in the area that has food and snacks imported from his home in Greece. When asked how often he shops at Titan, Constantine stated he goes every other week. “I like to stock up on my favorite Greek snacks like Greek Cheetos and chocolate-filled croissants, Greek coffee, dolmades, crackers, loux lemonade, cheese and salami when I go to Titan,” he said. When asked about how he felt about Titan closing, Constantine said, “I am a little upset because Titan was not too far from where I live, and it reminds me of home. When you walk inside everyone is very friendly and they always greet every customer. Although I think their prices are too high compared to prices in Greece, I will be sad to see them go.” Finally, I asked Constantine where he might shop in the future after Titan closes at the end of June. He said, “Honestly, I’m not sure. There aren’t that many other options. Titan was the main Greek market in the area for so long that other smaller shops didn’t try to compete. I will probably have to have my mom in Greece send me everything I need now!” he said, laughing.

Personally, it saddens me to see a store that I have been going to since I was a little girl close all of a sudden. This was one of the best Greek markets that I enjoyed going to over the years. To see them pull through the COVID-19 pandemic and lockdown and to close just a few years later is too bad. However, their prices were high and were getting even higher in recent months. It became more and more expensive to get my favorite products. For example, a Greek cappuccino mix, which is sold for €2 in Greece is being sold for over $16 at Titan. Outrageous prices such as these could have been a contributing factor to Titan ultimately closing its doors. Astoria is home to a large population of Greek people, many of whom are disappointed to see Titan leave the area after so many years. Titan closing will impact many people, especially older people who have been shopping there for many years. For instance my grandparents have been going there since I was little to buy all their Greek cheeses like Feta, manouri, kefalograviera etc along with olives and spices. Being that they are older, it's not easy for them to find another location or to drive further to one, so this is a huge

inconvenience to the elderly.

Overall, everyone is sad to see Titan go after so many years in the same location. They had built a loyal group of customers and had been a constant presence in Astoria. Although some other Greek markets exist in the area, it will be hard for many people to adjust without Titan. Many people from Greece have heard of the Greek influences in Astoria and even seen commercials for it on MEGATV, a popular television channel in Greece and New York. They are sure to visit the area whenever they come to New York. Titan stood at the center and was, in many ways, even a tourist attraction for people visiting Astoria. The effect that Titan closing has had on the community goes to show the impact that a local business can have. Today I took one last trip over there with my sister-in-law to stock up on some of our favorite things (Greek lemonade, frozen cheese pies, cookies, cheese, olive oil, some seasonings and chips) and to get some Greek frappe. It truly is the end of an era!


bottom of page