top of page
  • molloycommunicatio

Pump The Brakes: Rising Gas Prices Need To Take A Walk !

By: Olivia Hamerman


Skyrocketing gas prices are weighing heavy on the minds of most Americans. The increase in gas prices is something that nearly everyone in the United States is battling now. For some people, driving is as necessary as drinking water; they need to get to work, school, an appointment, etc. How are they going to continue to maintain the lifestyle they live? The answer is that they simply can’t. If people can’t drive and need to get places they should turn to public transportation, biking, walking, and even ride-sharing. The national average of gasoline prices is up approximately 45 cents one month ago and approximately $1.50 from one year ago. This increase in gas prices is changing the lives of many, leading to new habits and lifestyle changes. Historically, gas prices usually surge from Memorial Day to Labor Day due to the increase in travel and summer adventures. Nowadays it isn’t just that short period. It is every day and the prices are constantly rising due to issues that are out of the average American's control. I will not comment on the politics of it. In the world we live in today, the prices are increasing for almost everything. People are spending hundreds of more dollars a week on household items, groceries, clothing, and other bills.

I had the opportunity to speak with a personal driver named Carlos, who has been driving a prominent family around for over 10 years. Carlos spends 8-10 hours a day driving. I thought it was important to know how many times a week he goes to get gas. Carlos responded, “I go to get gas three times a week and each time I fill up my truck. I must use premium gas and it costs me about $140 each time. Last year I was driving the same amount and was only spending $90.” When talking to Jack Hamerman, a new driver who has only been driving for a year he stated, “I would rather walk everywhere than even think about driving my car. I don’t make enough money from my part-time job to afford this.” As a result of the rising gas prices, the prices of everything else are also increasing. Carlos says, “A bigger chunk of my earnings goes towards gas, I’m spending nearly $200 a week more than what I used to. Driving my family on my off days has become a luxury.” Millions will have their summer plans affected by the gas price surge. Many will have “staycations.” Others may choose road trips over flights. "The higher gas prices caused airline tickets to also increase,” stated Carlos. “If my family and I want to take a vacation this summer, it will still be cheaper to drive. Can you imagine the cost of 5 airplane tickets?” Still, there will be others who will not be able to afford a getaway at all. Jack added, “I have to wake up an hour earlier every day just to walk to school because my parents refuse to give me money for gas, and I’m done paying for it myself”. Gas prices for teenagers are out of reach and Jack is a prime example of a student who has been affected directly.

The most interesting story I got from looking into the topic of gas prices was from a junior executive, Bonnie, at Marriott Hotels. “My husband and I moved to Florida almost a year ago so that we could afford to buy our first home. I recently started a new job that is 42 miles away from home and over the past month I had to rethink the distance between home and work. I interviewed for a less exciting job closer to home and was offered the position. Thankfully, Marriott is a visionary group and offered me to work remotely three times a week, so I only have to commute two times a week. Gas prices nearly robbed me of my dream job.” Bonnie's story is a prime example of how something like gas prices is affecting people’s lifestyles and changing the way they live.

I will never forget when the gas prices started to rise. It used to cost me less than $30 to fill up my tank. I drove anywhere and everywhere; I was always the one to offer to drive. Nowadays it costs me nearly $50 for gas. I am lucky enough to live in a populated town where I can nearly walk anywhere within a mile. The only place I was driving was to school, which is about 7 miles from my house. Now that it's summer, I don’t drive anywhere. Since the start of the gas hike, I have personally chosen to walk. I walk almost everywhere, including work, stores, local restaurants, and my friend’s houses. Trips to the nail and hair salons have decreased in hopes to conserve money. I even put air in my bicycle tires. I think that the best way to avoid these high gas prices is by not driving if you don’t have to. If I can walk, I will. I make extra time to make sure I have enough time to walk to and from places which is good for both my physical and mental health. If people don’t drive as much it is also better for the environment which many people need to realize. I encourage people in my life to do the same and it truly has changed my life for the better.

Since most of the issues that cause the rise in gas prices are out of our control, we must face problems like this head-on and make solutions for ourselves. In the uncertain times of today, people need to stay positive and to not focus on all the tragedies and problems happening around us. It is important to be grateful and to realize that there are other solutions, as the saying states, “When life gives you lemons, make lemonade.” Walk your way into a new beginning and you won’t be disappointed.



27 views0 comments
bottom of page