top of page
  • molloycommunicatio

My Study Abroad Experience: Southern Italy

By: Victoria Palmeri

Traveling to different countries or different places is something almost everyone wants to experience. The best way young students can check this off their bucket list is by taking advantage of their school’s study abroad program.




         In the spring semester of 2023, I decided to take my first ever study abroad trip to Southern Italy with Molloy University. One day in the cafeteria, an ad on the monitor claimed to have five seats left on the Southern Italy trip for those who were interested. The class would take place during the end of the spring semester, but the trip would occur from May 23rd – June 3rd. Luckily, my other friend also wanted to go and she also knew someone going on the trip. We immediately went to the Office of International Education to apply for the trip. We both were able to get spots on the trip, however there was one problem. At that time, I hadn’t gotten my adult passport and the trip was in two months. My wonderful mother did all she could to get my passport, but getting it expedited wasn’t enough. The only time I would be able to get an appointment with the New York Passport Agency would be the day of my flight. At six in the morning, my mother and I waited on the agency’s line for two hours. My flight was at three o’clock, yet for international flights you must be at the airport three hours prior. Fortunately, I received my passport at 12 p.m. and immediately went to J.F.K. International Airport to get on my flight.

We first arrived in Rome after two connecting flights and had a welcoming dinner on our first night. Everyone was able to get to know each other and talked about what we all were looking forward to on the trip. Over the next five days in Rome, we saw the amazing scenery and multiple landmarks. We engaged in a walking tour of the Colosseum, the Vatican Museums, St. Peter’s Basilica, and the Baths of Caracalla. Next, we travelled to Sorrento and stayed there for four days. While staying there, we saw a limoncello factory, Pompeii, and Mount Vesuvius. We also took a full-day excursion to Capri and went through the Blue Grotto. Our last day was a day of leisure, so we took a ferry to Positano.

      After being on my first trip to Italy I was able to experience my family’s culture, as well some travel tips. A fellow study abroad student, Cynthia Adolphus, said that she would tell other first-time study abroad travelers that extra socks are always a good idea. Isabel Zollo, who also travelled to Italy, mentioned, “I forgot aloe vera for bad sunburns and that’s an essential you need when traveling.” Both students have travelled to France and Italy with the study abroad program at Molloy University and shared their experience. “The trips are super organized and planned. Going on more than one trip seemed like a pretty good way of getting to explore other countries and meeting new Molloy students,” stated Cynthia. When asked about the class portion of the program Isabel explained, “The class wasn’t too difficult, mostly reading on the history of Italy and writing small papers.” I think that reading about Italy really prepared us in having a good understanding about what parts of history we were experiencing for ourselves. Not many students are aware of the many places that are offered by the study abroad program, so it is important to keep up with school’s social media pages. “I found out about the Molloy University trips via Instagram and my microbiology professor telling the class about how great the trips were,” Cynthia shared. Isabel also found out about the program in a similar way. She explained, “I follow Molloy University’s International Office of Education on Instagram and saw that they were posting about Spain, which I always wanted to travel to.” If students are interested in traveling with their school, it is extremely important to keep in touch with school updates and those who work within the program.

         In my opinion, I think joining a study abroad trip is an easy way to travel to different places and experience new cultures. It also is an added bonus when you have some connection to the place that you are traveling to. Study abroad trips can help students understand the different lifestyles of other countries, expand their knowledge on history, and possibly learn a different language. I only knew two people prior to trip, but that all changed. I was able to meet a ton of new students and formed significant friendships. I also got to know more about the professors that went on the trip with us. Trips like these with fellow students can create meaningful and fun memories. Another benefit of traveling abroad is the food. Not many people experience the authentic cuisines of other countries and there is a world of food out there waiting to be eaten. When studying abroad, you can go on adventures and do activities that you have never done before. For me, I was able to go cliff jumping for the first time and get my first tattoo with friends.

         I would recommend some tips to students who want to travel abroad. A travel first aid kit, medication, and a reusable water bottle are some essentials to travel with. A reusable water bottle is one item I wished I had brought to Italy with me because I was constantly drinking water on every excursion. There are also a ton of water fountains in Italy, so a reusable water bottle may have been easier to have than having to buy one several times a day. When traveling, it is also important to remember that other countries have different outlets and voltages. A universal adapter is something to consider if you plan on traveling to multiple countries, as well as a portable charger. If your trip involves a lot of walking, comfortable shoes would also be something to invest in.  It is important to plan when packing. It is a good idea to look at the weather of the place you are traveling to in order to get a sense of what kind of clothes you will need to bring. Most of all, it is imperative to have your passport and other documents. If your passport is expired or you need an adult passport, you should make sure to get that done well in advance. I should know.

         If I could do it all over again the same way, I certainly would. Everyone should be able to try new experiences and cross off their bucket list. If you are interested in making new friends, experiencing different cultures, trying new things, and visiting landmarks, then studying abroad may be for you. If you are waiting for a sign to go and join your school’s study abroad program, this is it.


bottom of page