top of page
  • molloycommunicatio

From Aspirations to Achievements: A Future Doctor’s Journey at Brown University


Written By: Kayla Bausbacher



With dreams of becoming a doctor sparked as a young child and fueled by a relentless pursuit of excellence, Yousuf Suleman, a pre-med student at Brown University, is on a path towards a career in medicine. Currently preparing to enter Brown's Medical School in 2026, Yousuf shares insights into his journey, challenges, and aspirations in this interview.


Yousuf's journey towards a career in medicine began with a childhood aspiration and has been shaped by numerous experiences and influences along the way. "I have known from a young age that I wanted to help people," he recalls. "I remember when my teacher asked me in 2nd grade what I wanted my occupation to be, and I told her that I wanted to be a doctor." This early ambition was further solidified by the role models and mentors in his life. Yousuf credits his parents as significant influences, noting, "I saw what they came from and how hard they worked for my siblings and I, and I knew I wanted more for myself and for them." He explained to me just how important it was to have his parents support his dreams. Making them proud meant the world to him and is what really pushed him to support his passion. 

Choosing Brown University for his undergraduate studies was a pivotal decision in his academic journey. "They had a great medical program," he explains. "I saw the community and knew I wanted to be a part of a university that promotes collaboration." This collaborative environment has been instrumental in shaping his approach to medicine, providing him with opportunities to learn from both professors and peers. Currently, while completing his undergraduate degree he is participating in research where he is able to work with other students similar to himself and professors to deepen their understanding of the medical field. 

One particularly impactful experience was a research class he took in high school. "My research teacher in high school was the first class I had taken where I was able to do what I wanted to do," he says. "I was able to learn from others without a set curriculum." This freedom to explore and innovate set the stage for his future academic endeavors at Brown.

However, the journey at Brown University has not been without its challenges. Balancing a demanding course load with research and personal time has been a significant struggle. "Juggling classes and research to build a resume while also having time to focus on myself and the things that make me happy has been the most challenging part of my pre-med journey so far," he admits. In addition, the shift from high school to college presented additional challenges. It required time and effort to become used to a new environment, build a new network of support, and discover a sense of community at Brown University. "It wasn't easy moving away from home and adjusting to a new place," he says. A positive and rewarding college experience required overcoming homesickness and establishing new relationships. Despite these challenges, Yousuf has continued to gain valuable hands-on experience through clinical internships. One notable experience was shadowing a cardiologist, which provided him with crucial insights into his career preferences. "From this experience, I realized I don't want to go into cardiology," he says. "It was boring, redundant, and repetitive—just not for me." Even though he didn't find cardiology to be rewarding, the shadowing experience gave him a solid grasp of the everyday tasks and obligations of a medical professional. It made it possible for Yousuf to watch how patients interacted with medical professionals, comprehend the intricacies of medical diagnoses, and recognize the value of communication and empathy in patient care. Seeing physicians, nurses, and other healthcare professionals work together to offer complete care emphasized the value of teamwork in healthcare settings for Yousuf.


Looking ahead, Yousuf is focused on maximizing his medical school experience. "I want to really soak it in and get everything I can from other students and doctors I work with to be the best doctor I can be," he says. His passion for learning and collaboration is evident, and he has specific aspirations for his future in medicine.  "Oncology is a specialty I am particularly interested in, largely because of my mom," he shares. His personal connection to the field drives his commitment to making a difference. See, Yousuf’s mother was diagnosed with Breast Cancer his sophomore year of high school. He reflects on this time period of his life and says, “Knowing everything she went through changed everything for me.” Unfortunately, she passed away the following year but Yousuf will always honor his mother and help other families just like his own. Additionally, he hopes to address healthcare disparities and improve access to medical care for underserved populations. "I would like to help lower-income families and the immigrant community because I am a part of that group and I want to see change. Everyone deserves medical care." Support from family and friends has been crucial in navigating his academic journey. "I have people there to support me emotionally and help me manage my stress, specifically school-related," he says, highlighting the role of his sister. "Hanging out with friends in different settings such as school-related activities has also been just as important as doing fun activities, it's nice to be able to maintain a good balance."


As Yousuf prepares for the next chapter at Brown's Medical School, his determination and passion for medicine remain unwavering. His path to becoming a doctor is about more than just his academic and professional success. It's also about honoring the people who have impacted him, solving significant healthcare concerns, and leaving a lasting legacy through his medical work. His journey and a commitment to making a difference exemplifies the qualities of a future medical professional dedicated to quality and compassionate care. Yousuf is carrying with him the knowledge, insights, and inspirations that will help him pursue a rewarding career in medicine and leave a lasting impression on the world as he heads into the rest of his medical journey.


6 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page